top of page
Writer's pictureVincent Jones

Lou Vincent's Ban Relaxed

In breaking news, Lou Vincent’s life ban in all forms of cricket has been reduced to him being allowed to participate and be involved in cricket matches at, or below domestic level.


The changes that have been announced will take effect immediately


A statement released by Gerad Elias CBE KC on behalf of the Cricket Discipline Commission was reached following consideration of the specific circumstances of Vincent’s case.


A number of cricket stakeholders including the ECB, NZC, and the International Cricket Council made evidence and representation.


Vincent was accused of spot-fixing in some domestic forms of cricket including the Indian Cricket League, the ECB 40, the Bangladesh Premier League and the Champions League Twenty20. He was given 11 lifetime bans excluding him from participation in cricket in any capacity.

Vincent stated that he was grateful to be given a second chance and that it was:


“A terrible mistake many years ago which I’ll deeply regret for the rest of my life, and I remain very sorry for the harm I caused.

“Being able to return to the cricket environment means the world to me and I feel very fortunate to again have that opportunity.

“I want to thank the ECB and the Cricket Discipline Committee and Mr Gerald Elias CBE KC for their consideration of my application and their ultimate determination.

“Same with the ICC, NZC, the NZCPA and the many other organisations who supported me throughout this process – it meant so much to me on a personal level.

“It’s also important for me to acknowledge and thank my lawyer Chris Morris, whose guidance and support over many years is something I’ll never forget.”

NZCP and NZC also supported the relaxation of Vincent's ban.


Heath Mills (NZCPA Chief Executive) said that

“The penalties have been particularly hard on Lou and he’s shown a lot of humility in owning his mistakes and setting about making amends”

Scott Weenink, NZC Chief Executive stated that:

“We’re pleased for Lou,” he said. “He made a mistake but he’s part of our cricket family and we want to support him and stand by him.

“Lou’s given a lot to the game, not least in helping spread the anti-corruption message over the past decade, and it’s good and right that he can be more involved again.”

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page